Stamping on Sunday: Father’s Day and Wedding Cards

Father's Day Card - Journey (2)

Father’s Day card made with map paper, Tim Holtz Jalopy die, A*Muse “Enjoy the Journey” stamp and SU “Journey” definition stamp.

Although writing is my first love for creative expression, scrapbooking and stamping feed my need for visual and tactile creativity. When I started scrapbooking in 1997, I became hooked immediately. After all, scrapbooking is about telling stories using photographs, journal entries, and creative design.

When I was later introduced to rubber stamping in 2005, my first thought was I will never be one of these stamping fanatics!  Ten years and hundreds of stamps, ink pads, papers and embellishments later, I definitely qualify as a papercrafting fanatic. (Discussion of treatment for aforementioned fanaticism will follow on Monday’s post on Minimalism…)

Although I haven’t stamped much lately, I would like very much to get back into the craft room once the supplies are reduced to manageable proportions. In the meantime, sharing some of my favorite past creations will help inspire me to get that creative space back into a usable state–and hopefully inspire you along the way.

1375660088522

Wedding gift of “Mr. & Mrs.” thank you cards presented in a Longaberger basket.

This set of wedding thank you cards was designed to match the black and white theme of the couple’s wedding colors. These cards are the standard finished, folded size of 4.25 x 5.5 inches. I used solid white cardstock for the base, then added a mat of textured black cardstock cut to 4 x 5.25 inches, creating a 1/8 inch frame. I then cut the patterned paper, which is from Basic Grey’s Black Tie 6×6 inch paper pad, to 3.75 x 5.0 inches for the top mat.  I used a variety of patterns from the same collection to create continuity while still having variety within the gift set. The label shape was then cut from the same solid white cardstock that I used for the base. The die cut is from the Stampin’ Up! Apothecary Accents Framelits die set, and I used the coordinating SU paper piercing set to create the detail all along the edges of the die cut. The Mr. & Mrs. stamp is also SU.

1375660029394

The detail of the paper piercing is a little easier to see in this photo, but what isn’t showing up are the two SU Rhinestone Basic Jewels I applied over the periods after “Mr.” and “Mrs.” I then added black and white trim to the 2009 Longaberger Horizon of Hope Note Basket in Warm Brown and tied it all together with tulle ribbon.

IMG_1209

Here is another, more elaborate version of the first design. I used a white base, burgundy mat, and silver top mat embossed with the Cuttlebug Swirls embossing folder. I used the same die cut and stamp, coordinating the ink to the burgundy base color and substituting self-adhesive pearl accents for the clear rhinestones. I also added a sheer white organza ribbon for a bit of elegance. As you can also see, the mats were cut to show a larger section of color, so the base is 4.25 x 5.5 inches, the burgundy mat is 3.75 x 5 inches, and the silver mat is 3.25 x 4.5 inches. I also used Stampin’ Dimensionals to adhere the label.

IMG_1210

Here is the finished gift basket (using the same Longaberger basket mentioned above) with a coordinating ribbon found at a local monogram store. They also had a primitive heart-shaped ring holder in the same color scheme and font as the ribbon so I added that to the gift as well.

8 thoughts on “Stamping on Sunday: Father’s Day and Wedding Cards

  1. Very nice cards. Love the way you presented them too! I’m happy to see you blogging, look forward to your post. I can’t wait till you talk about managing all your supplies! Lol I need help too!

    • Thank you so much, Tina. Glad you liked the cards, and I look forward to talking about craft supplies as well…it might even come up in tomorrow’s (Monday) post!

Leave a Reply

